The one with Daniels 2nd birthday….

IMG_2296

So this week (or should I say 10 day so or so) has been hectic. I’m shattered and need a week off to recover! We have celebrated Daniels 2nd birthday with everything and everyone he loves and its been fantastic!

Lets start with the birthday cake ~ I decided to bake this myself. I love homemade wherever possible. Last year for his 1st birthday I handmade a dinosaur teepee with the help of my friend, she taught me how to sew and the results were phenomenal if I do say so myself. We were up until 1am sewing pieces together, ironing and measuring. And we were the same this year. I like to think I can bake. I’ve always baked tasty cupcakes, and the creamiest buttercream. I even made my friends wedding cake. This year however, I have a new oven. I haven’t baked in it before and my head was all over the place as my beloved bunny was in the vets care overnight. I forgot an ingredient for my reliable vanilla sponge recipe so found an alternative. Lets just say, it was dry. Very dry!

The following morning i had a call to say my bunny had passed away. What on earth was I going to do? I couldn’t let Daniel see me cry or my nephew who was as staying with us. I picked up the missing ingredient and set to baking again, this cake had to be perfect. It was for my baby boy. In the oven the cake looked promising, it had a good rise and smelled delicious. I removed it from the oven. Let it cool before removing from the tin. And it was underbaked…..que massive melt down whilst Daniel napped. Frantically on the phone to my friend for her recipe for a cake, she agreed to bake too so we had something that was edible to decorate!

That evening she came over to teach me how to decorate a large cake, I’d done it before but just plain icing. This needed to be perfect for his birthday party. Again we were up until 1am moulding a ‘Raaa Raaa The Noisy Lion’ cake and it was amazing. It was worth all of the stress. And we’ve set a new birthday tradition!

IMG_2295

The party ~ Back in January we booked a soft play centre for his birthdaty. He’d been to a party there in October, and every time he’s since been he’s called it ‘Party!’. £200 for 30 children for 2 hours, with food, drinks, ice lollies and party bags included. It was fantastic. Daniel loved it and all the kids were exhausted when leaving and what’s better is, I had no tidying up to do what so ever. Mothers dream!

The birthday gifts ~ We always said we’d buy him a balance bike for his 2nd birthday. So we chose a Mongoose BMX style balanced bike from Halfords, along with a Batman bell and a Moonman helmet. We also chose a large water and sand table ELC, suitable for up to 8yo so hoping it’s going to be lovely and tall. As we were going away these were to be opened on our return on the Thursday. So we bought a couple of gifts to take away. A dinosaur sticker book, some hot wheels, and a Leap Frog writing tablet. He gets very overwhelmed with gifts and new stuff so this was more than enough for him. He received money from family and a few friends, and a new Thomas train.

How we spent his birthday ~ Back in December we booked a B&B in York. This was to be Daniels birthday day out, and a family break before IVF. We booked a lovely place called Bowen House. It was a 10 min walk into the city centre via Monk Gate, and had free parking. Our room was at the top of the house, spacious and clean and Daniel had his own single bed to sleep in. On his birthday we were up and out early, we headed to the National Rail Museum. We walked into town, past the Minster, and through the park. There were squirrels everywhere. Daniel was calling them ‘Squirrel Nutkin’ and following them across the grass. We walked down the river and over the footbridge to the train station.

Daniel was so excited when he saw the 1st train in the entrance. I could have cried. His little voice. ‘trains, mummy, daddy, hand?!’ And grabbed our hand and took us towards the trains. He was searching for Henry and Percy. I was soaking up everything to do with the Royal carriages that’s were there. There was a lovely little playground that Daniel loved, and the weather was so sunny too.

We then crossed under the track to the other half of the museum where the Rocket and the Flying Scotsman were displayed. Daniel loved the model railway and was mesmerised by the sheer size of the steam engines around him. It is well worth a visit if your little one loves trains. Entry is free, but donations are welcome and there was so much more to do. Daniel fell asleep before we left the gift shop (we bought him the wooden rocket for his track) and he slept all the way back into town, and woke up in an amazing mood!

After some lunch we went on a little river cruise. £17 for the 3 of us and it lasted around an hour. The OCD worry wart mother in me wouldn’t let Daniel onto the top deck as it was rails, so we sat downstairs with the big windows. He enjoyed seeing the ducks and the other boats on the river and I really enjoyed the guide. We finished the day off with a meal at Jamie’s Italian.

IMG_2294

Daniel thoroughly enjoyed his day out. It was all about him, everything he loved. Trains, boats, running around and being with us. I could have cried most of the day but with pride. We made him. And we are making him as happy  as he makes us. His smiles, his grins, his squeals with excitement. He makes my heart melt. C x.

Leave a Reply

