img_0206

Snuggling my newborn.

When we were TTC I had an idea of the type of Mum I woud be. I would be up with the birds like Cinderella and dressed and ready for the day before baby woke up. My house would be organised and tidy, and I would cook from scratch daily. We would have organised fun, and amazing family days out. Kind of like Monica Gellar from Friends.

Ha. Who was I kidding?

As Daniel was an emergency section it took me a while before I was up on my feet, pottering around. And in that time I snuggled  with my newborn, constantly. Im guilty of that. I struggled to stand from the sofa when holding him for the 1st couple of weeks. So I’d make myself a cup of tea, get the bottle ready, and change his bum, then get comfortable on the sofa or on the bed and feed him. When he fell asleep I’d just sit and watch him. Listening to all of the beautiful noises he’d make and just sniff him, soak him all up. It was amazing. When my husband finished work he’d take over. He’d sit and snuggle him whilst I pottered around and made us tea. It gave us both that essential time with him.

My husband was working crazy shifts at the time. He ran his own business 9-5 for 6 days a week, then would have an evening job 6-2 for 2-3 evenings. Why? Because the business had become quiet. He wanted to ensure there was always money coming in, when deep down he hate hated working for himself and worrying about the bills.

**apologies for blabbering on. Still finding my writing style, thanks for reading**

When Daniel was 3 months old, we made the decision to close down. That was a Sunday. On the Monday the closing down sale began. Now, we had a family and we needed to put that 1st.

So my routine was whatever worked around my family. Daniel was a good sleeper, so I woke when he woke in a morning. For a while this was a 6am wake, and he was napping by 9am. That’s when I would shower. When he napped after lunch that’s when I’d clean or prep tea. He fed through the night until he was 18 months. He’d wake at around 4am for a bottle, then he’d sleep until around 7.30am. Nothing was set in stone. I’d love to say I slept when he did, but I didn’t. I did go to bed early and watch him sleeping in the crib next to me. I was like every other Mum. I was winging it. And I still am.

Hes still a really good sleeper and loves a good 14 hour snooze, going to bed at 8pm. So yes, I sleep when he sleeps now If we have no plans that day. And that’s our issue. We say we’ll be up and out early, and we never are. But hubbys shifts have now changed so I’ve challenged us to become ‘morning people‘. For us to get a good sleep, and be up early so we can have a family breakfast before work. That might sound cliche but if myslef or Craig are only getting 90 mins a day with Daniel around work, it needs to be done.

I watch vlogs on YouTube of other Mums and ‘a day in the life‘ or ‘week in the life‘ routines, and I really do wonder ‘do they manage it everyday even without filming?’ as some of it looks idyllic. I’ll keep watching as it’s my guilty pleasure and Im super nosey,and I’ll pick up tips and tricks where I can. I want to have a good, standard morning routine to set up the day. We can’t pop a routine onto the rest of the day such as meal times as my hours change each week and I can finish work at 3pm, 7pm or 10pm so for now we’ll just wing that bit.

Days 1 & 2 have gone well so far, so I’ll update in the near future.

Thanks for reading, C x

YouTube channels I enjoy watching are;

Jules Furness

Charlotte Taylor

Emily Norris

Mrs Meldrum

If you have any suggestions of videos to watch of blogs to read please let me know.

 

The 1 where i yap on about our routine (or lack of)…

Leave a Reply

